If you have been ticketed or arrested for Reckless Driving in New Kent County VA, then you need an experienced New Kent VA Reckless Driving Lawyer. In fact, a motorist can be convicted of Reckless Driving for speeding as little as 11 miles per hour over the limit if the speed allegation is 81 miles per hour in a 70 mile per hour speed zone. A conviction for Reckless Driving can severely jeopardize your freedom, your career, and your driving record. Additionally, a conviction on will also have a severe impact on the automobile insurance policy.
Reckless Driving in the Commonwealth of Virginia is classified as a Class One Misdemeanor criminal offense and is punishable as follows:
- Maximum 12 months in jail
- Maximum $2,500 fine, and/or
- Maximum 6 months loss of driving privileges in Virginia.
Reckless Driving in New Kent County VA can be charged and prosecuted as follows:
• 46.2-852 Reckless Driving – General.
Irrespective of the maximum speeds permitted by law, any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person shall be guilty of reckless driving.
• 46.2-853 Reckless Driving – Fail to Maintain control; faulty brakes
A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a vehicle which is not under proper control or which has inadequate or improperly adjusted brakes on any highway in the Commonwealth.
• 46.2-854 Reckless Driving – Passing on a grade or on a curve
• 46.2-855 Reckless Driving – View obstructed/control impaired
• 46.2-856 Reckless Driving – Passing two vehicles abreast
• 46.2-857 Reckless Driving – Driving two abreast in a single lane
• 46.2-858 Reckless Driving – Passing at a railroad grade crossing
• 46.2-859 Reckless Driving – Passing a stopped school bus
• 46.2-860 Reckless Driving – Failing to give proper signals
• 46.2-861 Reckless Driving – Driving too fast conditions
• 46.2-862 Reckless Driving – Speeding (Exceeding speed limit)
A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.
• 46.2-863 Reckless Driving – Failure to yield right-of-way
• 46.2-864 Reckless Driving on parking lots, etc
• 46.2-865 Reckless Driving – Racing
• 46.2-865.1 Injuring or causing death of another while racing; penalties
• 46.2-866 Reckless Driving – Racing; aiders or abettors
• 46.2-867 Racing; seizure of motor vehicle
• 46.2-868.1 Aggressive Driving
• 46.2-868 Reckless Driving Penalties
A. Every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
B. Every person convicted of reckless driving who, when he committed the offense, (i) was driving without a valid operator’s license due to a suspension or revocation for a moving violation and, (ii) as the sole and proximate result of his reckless driving, caused the death of another, is guilty of a Class 6 felony.
C. The punishment for every person convicted of reckless driving under the provisions of this article who, when he committed the offense, was in violation of §46.2-1078.1shall include a mandatory minimum fine of $250.
We possess over 40 years of combined traffic law experience and are routinely recognized by Virginia Super Lawyers for our legal ability and ethical standards. We are the skilled New Kent VA Reckless Driving Lawyers that clients want representing them. We use every resource the law allows, and consider guilty pleas only when they are in the best interest of our clients. Contact an experienced New Kent County VA Reckless Driving Attorney with an established working relationship with judges, prosecutors, state troopers, police officers, deputy sheriffs and court personnel for a free initial consultation.